Once you register for Hack The Box, you will need to review some information on your account. The Dashboard contains a few useful tabs that will allow you to navigate through your account settings. These will include general information settings, 2-Factor-Authentication setup, Subscription management, Badge progression, and more.


Profile Settings, Details & Security

To start, you can visit the Dashboard and click on the tab marked Profile Settings.

From here, you can take charge of any information related to your account.

The first thing you should do is enable the 2-Factor-Authentication mechanism. This can be done from the menu below.

Follow the on-screen instructions, and you should be good to go.

After you've enabled it, make sure to view and save your backup codes somewhere safe, like a physical piece of paper, which you should put in a safe and bury the safe under the sea with a couple of sharks trained to circle it or just a password manager.


Profile Settings, Notifications & Sharing

Above the profile picture selection menu, you can swap between the current Details & Security settings page and your Notification Settings page.

You can disable or enable E-mail Notifications about the platform activity and make your profile Public to outside, unauthenticated users. By clicking on the profile link, a pop-up page will appear with this format.

Back to the Details & Security page, you can also link your social media accounts for others to swoon over you and your projects!

If you'd like to Delete your Hack The Box account, there is a button for that as well!

Upon deletion, all your data associated with Hack The Box will be eradicated. This action is permanent, and no data is recoverable.

After any new changes you've made to your account settings, remember to Save them so that they take effect!


Subscriptions

If you'd like to manage your Subscriptions, become a VIP member, acquire a Pro Lab pass, or anything related to your account and payments, you can select the Subscriptions tab.

From the VIP subscription menu specifically, you can view more details on what it can offer to new users. We strongly recommend switching to VIP after some time getting acquainted with the inner works of the platform. It can accelerate your learning process by a large factor.


Personal Vault

Your Personal Vault is our way of ensuring that your private data stays safe. You need to set it up and secure it with a passphrase which you will need to save somewhere extra-safe.

The Vault is used to safely keep (ISC)² account details, your real name for CPE points attribution, and more.

To make changes to your Vault, lock or unlock it.


Click the button below to access your Personal Vault:


To access the data, you need to unlock your Vault by submitting your secret. After the Vault is unlocked, an access token is stored as a cookie in your browser. The data is decrypted using this cookie and displayed to you.

Tokens have a max lifetime of 30 days.

To set up your Vault for the first time, navigate to your Vault settings page linked above or click on your profile picture on the Dashboard and navigate to Manage Personal Vault under the Vault category.

You will need to perform the Vault’s first-time setup if you haven’t done it already.

Remember to save your secret somewhere safe. We will not be able to recover it for you. Resetting requires contacting support and can take days.

After you input your secret passphrase, click on Initialize Vault, and you’re good to go.

After it’s been set up, you should unlock it using your set passphrase and lock it back up whenever you need it on the same page.

After entering your passphrase, you should be met with the following screen:

You can now make changes to the information contained in the Vault via your settings page.


Click the button below to access your Settings Page:


This information consists of CPE Credits information at the moment. You can receive these credits on the assigned (ISC)2 account information that you will fill into the following table:

After you finish filling in all the required information, you should lock your Vault back up to provide the extra layer of security to your personal data.

Did this answer your question?